Emotional Eating- Here we go again!

I know you have heard it, over and over again. Eating through your emotions is not very healthy. Try this, try that, get a hobby, create goals, create good habits, eat keto, eat carbs, don’t eat carbs…the list is endless.

So how does one deal with the emotional stressors of eating? Well, I can tell you from personal experience that I have tried every tactile measure known to man. But writing a blog about it is a new process. What do I have to lose- hopefully some weight and not just body weight. Emotional issues connected to my eating. Here’s the thing…most overweight people know what to do. They do not lack education in the nutritional process. They lack the proper coping skills to deal with emotional issues and use food to protect themselves from whatever trauma is happening in the day.

Now Trauma is a strong word…But it can take on a life of it’s own…trauma can mean a bad drive to work, a spouse who angers you about a task at home, a co-worker not holding their own responsibilities and putting them on you. Or, it could be much heavier. An alcoholic mother or an abusive boyfriend. The list goes on. We all deal with traumas in different ways. For me, food has always been the comfort that has protected me from my fears and worry. It’s been with me longer than most anything in my life. But it’s time to say goodbye.

Don’t get me wrong. I can’t completely say goodbye. I have to eat to survive, But I also have to be very clear about this task moving forward. If I don’t get a grip on the emotional issue that has plagued me most of my life, it will kill me. As hard as that sounds, it is the sobering truth.

So moving forward, I invite you to be on my journey. From time to time, I will be writing about my experiences. Maybe they will help you, maybe it will help me. The plan is to help create a place of peace, safety and comfort for me to go to every night. Please feel free to come along. My goal is to become a better human being, lose weight along the way, regain my health and find peace.

For now, let’s call this the pregame for the big show. I am weighing myself tomorrow morning and beginning my new day!

For now, I say goodnight !

Leave a comment